5 things that messed me up at first in Thailand

It’s already been almost 2 months since I’m back from Thailand, but the whole adventure has left a lot of memories. I wrote about most of them in my previous blog post 🙂
There are some things though that I haven’t mentioned, but in retrospect they really messed with what I was used to.

1. Water in the toilets
The fact that the water filled up the toilet as if it were overflowing REALLY freaked me out at first!!! When I went into the first toilet stall on the airport I was sure the toilet was broken and will spill over any moment!! 😂😂😂

2. Walk-in showers with no seperating walls
So I’m used to showers that have a kind of stall, cubicle, walls. I even use walk-in showers with thin walls separating the shower from the rest of the room.
But a walk-in shower that is basically your whole bathroom? Including the toilet seat and washing basin? That’s a first!!

3. Eating with a spoon and fork
I got over this one pretty quickly, but it was hilarious the first few times when I was looking around for a knife and wondering how I should eat my meal with a spoon instead of a knife 🙂

image

4. Leaving your shoes out front
This is the one I struggled a lot with for my whole stay. I was basically just looking if someone else does it and then followed suit.
In supermarkets and 7/11s I never saw people taking off their shoes at the entrance, but before walking in to small shops or bars they did.
Worst thing was when I wanted to walk into a shop as the only person… I assumed I have to put them off if the owner was barefoot inside 😂
Also, I realize that in Bangkok I only took off my shoes before walking into the gym, but in Phuket every other place I had to take off my shoes. Well, I was mostly wearing flip-flops, so no problem with taking them off!

5. Riding on the scooter with no helmet

Riding the scooter was a huge thing for me, because I never rode one before. And my first time was as a back-ride with no helmet on! 😉
I was a little bit scared at first, but then I started to enjoy it.
When I borrowed my own scooter later on, I was wearing the helmet…sometimes 😉

image

So, these were my impressions of the unusual things from my perspective, even though they seem funny to me now 🙂
This also teaches me that you need to open up to other cultures and other things you might not be used to, it helps to ease into difficult things and makes you much more relaxed!

By the way, this is my first blog post written on my mobile app!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

